Trentham Golf Club
  • pictureshow9


  • pictureshow14


  • pictureshow13


  • pictureshow20


  • adslider1


  • pictureshow12


  • pictureshow10


  • pictureshow15


  • pictureshow21


The field of 73 golfers exchanged shorts and sun hats for wet weather gear in the Men's 36-hole Open, the ultimate event in the Trentham Annual Tournament. The warm sunshine from the previous day in the tournament changed overnight to persistent drizzly showers and cold southerly winds, relieved by some fine blue-sky breaks.

The 36-hole Open winners were Jason Lock (Gisborne, right), who won the scratch with 72-71=143, and George Theoharis (Trentham, left) who won the handicap trophy off 5 with 73-69=142.

Thanks to arxada wood protection Trentham for their continuing long-term sponsorship of the day and their sponsorship of the nearest-the-pin on the 2nd hole. Thanks to the other nearest-the-pin sponsors throughout the tournament: Trentham and District Community Bank, Wombat Hill House and Concrete Collaborative, and to Drummond Golf Niddrie for sponsoring the (unclaimed) hole-in-one prize of $250.

Thanks also to our greens staff for course preparation, the Karen and the Birdie Kitchen for the wonderful food all week, and all the volunteers who helped during the whole tournament with starting fields, compiling results and helping in the bar.

We are already looking forward to and planning next year's tournament from October 21 to 27, 2024.


Morning Handicap: A Grade: David Thiele (Trentham) 68, B Grade: Jason Bernardi (Tullamarine) 70, C Grade: Amit Kishore (RAAF Williams) 70

Morning Scratch: A Grade: Brendan Larkins (Gisborne) 72, B Grade: Jason Bernardi (Tullamarine) 80, C Grade: Amit Kismore (RAAF Williams) 87

Afternoon Handicap: A Grade George Theoharis (Trentham) 69, B Grade: Andrew Lane (Thirteenth Beach) 70, C Grade: Jeffrey Fraser (Yarrawonga) 71

Afternoon Scratch: A Grade: Jason Lock (Gisborne) 71, B Grade: Chris Hale (Woodend) 78, C Grade: Murray Fraser (Woodend) 88

36-hole Scratch: A Grade and George O'Hehir Cup Jason Lock (Gisborne) 143, B Grade: Jason Bernardi (Tullamarine) 163, C Grade: Jeffrey Fraser (Yarrawonga) 179

36-hole Handicap: A Grade and Max O'Halloran Cup George Theoharis (Trentham) 142, B Grade: Jason Bernardi (Tullamarine) 143, C Grade: Jeffrey Fraser (Yarrawonga) 143